Image: Supplied.

The musical chameleon that is Yoshi Flower is treating fans with a slew of new music! The singer has announced a collection of 7" singles, consisting of new music and B-Side covers. The first in the series comes today, with the release of Faking Sleep / Boys Don't Cry!

On Faking Sleep, the musician bares his soul for all, navigating the road of mental health and documenting his own personal journey. Set to a scintillating soundscape, the musicians vocals delightful vocals captivate your attention above a genre bending soundscape, existing within the realm of alt-pop. Complete with intricate, evocative lyricism, the song serves as a reminder to remain optimistic in uneasy times. Directed by Josh Flores, the release is accompanied by a compelling visual, in which we see the hybrid artist in an ethereal dream-like state whilst singing over layered instrumentals and trap-like beats.

“It’s about reconciling this past year and trying to fall asleep every night with this gas leak of global context seeping into our everyday lives,” he explains. “You just have to go on with things and be optimistic where you can while being a good person.”

On the B-Side, the musician performs a stunning cover of The Cure's 1979 hit-single, Boys Don't Cry. Transforming the post-punk new wave track into a dreamy bedroom pop banger, Yoshi exhibits his musicianship skills bringing a modern twist to the 70's classic. We're even blessed with a music video for the track, taking a nostalgic approach.

In 2019 he released his mixtape, Peer Pleasure which gained notable recognition from Rolling Stone, V Man, i-D, TMRW Magazine, amongst others. While working on his music Yoshi also played a countless amount of shows including headlining dates, opening spots for artist such as Dua Lipa, Elohim, and K-rap group Epik High, and performed at major festivals including SXSW, Lollapalooza, and Made in America. As a true connoisseur of mixing genres Yoshi has also collaborated with a wide range of artists including GriZ, Jesse Rutherford,Rico Nasty, Quinn XCII + more.

Faking Sleep / Boys Don't Cry is out now! Watch the music video below.