top of page
  • Vasili Papathanasopoulos


Image: Chantal Anderson

The National frontman Matt Berninger is set to release a deluxe edition of his acclaimed solo debut album, Serpentine Prison. Having recently appeared on tracks with Taylor Swift and Julia Stone, Berninger has unveiled his new single, Let It Be.

Due out next month, the extended edition is set to feature six new tracks including two originals as well as interpretations of songs by Eddie Floyd, Morphine, Bettye Swan, and The Velvet Underground. The release will be marked with a new, limited pressing on neon chartreuse vinyl is available exclusively from Berninger’s website.

Produced by famed Memphis multi-instrumentalist Booker T. Jones, Serpentine Prison was released late last year via new imprint formed by Berninger and Jones. Speaking of the genesis of the recording, Berninger shares: “I sent [friend and collaborator Booker T. Jones] a few rough demos of originals that I had started working on with some old friends, including the songs ‘Serpentine Prison’ and ‘Distant Axis.’ Booker responded to those demos right away and encouraged me to keep writing and digging deeper into that stuff. Six months later we had twelve originals and seven covers. Everyone I had been working with on these songs came to Venice, CA, and we recorded it all in 14 days.”

Serpentine Prison Deluxe Edition is out March 12! Listen to Let It Be below.


bottom of page