top of page
  • Vasili Papathanasopoulos


The EP’s accompanying short-film visual is due out next week

Image: Jess Gleeson.

Aussie four-piece The Million are back with their sophomore EP why we’ll never be together. Featuring the singles Somebody Better, Check Up and Last Call, the release will be followed up by an official short-film visual, directed by Jack Evsrigneev, due out next week.

Recorded over the space of a few years, why we’ll never be together sonically traverses genres, the release brings funk-tinged sonics, 80s synth-pop and alt soundscapes, effortlessly moving throughout each genre. Through vast experimentation and enlisting a variety of producers, the four-piece were “were never afraid to try anything,” frontman Jacob Thomas shares.

With production credits from US producer Colin Brittain (Hands Like Houses, All Time Low) as well as Australian producers Chris Collins (Middle Kids, Gang Of Youths), Dylan Nash (Angus & Julia Stone) Dom Craik (Nothing But Thieves) and Nick Anderson (The Wrecks), the EP brings vivid and personal lyricism, documenting a tumultuous time in Thomas’, focusing on the breakdown of a relationship and the lingering emotions that lead to liberation. Moments of bitter lyricism are juxtaposed by carefree sonics, something Thomas describes as his “favourite combination,” continuing, “when the lyrics are morose and the sound is happy and positive. When you get that blend right there’s something that hits a bit harder.”

With two EP’s now under their belt and a handful of singles, The Million have accumulated over 2.5 million streams. Last year’s release Check Up was a left-field pop earworm with its choose your own adventure 8-bit game inspired music video. In late 2020, The Million supported indie-pop artist Sloan Peterson and quickly sold out two seated headline shows, welcoming them back to the stage after a brief break, thanks to the global pandemic.

why we’ll never be together is out now!


bottom of page