Search

POND ANNOUNCE 2022 EAST COAST TOUR

The band have also dropped a visual for Take Me Avalon I’m Young.

Image: Matsu


Perth psych-rockers Pond have treated fans wonderfully today, with the announcement of an east coast tour, and the release of an official visual for Take Me Avalon I’m Young.


Following on from their performance at Perth Festival on February 11, the five-piece will be bringing their live show to the east coast in April. Kicking off at Brisbane's The Triffid on April 7, Pond will take to the stage at The Metro Theatre in Sydney April 8 before wrapping up the run of shows at Melbourne's The Croxton on April 9. The tour is in support of the bands ninth studio album, 9, which debuted at #6 on the ARIA album chart.



Directed by Bunny Kinney, the visual places frontman Nick Allbrook within a number of settings, strolling along the beach and playing basketball, before a yoga session turns into a dance extravaganza. Of the visual, frontman Nick Allbrook shares: “Turns out my medieval history degree is still lingering in the back streets of my mind. The final resting place of Arthur, the mythic isles where we could go for peace and prosperity but which turns out to be an expensive grey grind. A sense of wonder becomes more and more slippery as the years go by. I'm actually really proud of this tune.”


Laced with tongue-in-cheek lyricism that provides as many entertaining one liners as it does introspective examination, 9 is a body of work that will fuel the fire within their fanbase, whilst welcoming in a new age of listeners. There’s a more open approach to creating and writing, with their process for this record embedded within each track. The five-piece went into making this album wanting a change, improvising tracks on tape reels which were then moulded and curated down into the collection of songs we hear today. This new way of working proved wonders, with Pond delivering a shining moment within their triumphant musical treasure trove. Read our full review of 9 here.


9 is out now!


POND 2022 TOUR DATES


AUSTRALIA

FEBRUARY / APRIL 2022

Presented by Spinning Top + Village Sounds*

Tickets on sale now


Friday 11 February | Perth Festival, Perth WA

Thursday 7 April | The Triffid, Brisbane QLD*

Friday 8 April | The Metro Theatre, Sydney NSW*

Saturday 9 April | The Croxton, Melbourne VIC*


UK + EUROPE

MAY / JUNE 2022

Tickets on sale 10:00am GMT Wednesday 24 November

Presented by Spinning Top


Tuesday 31 May | Sala Moon, Valencia ES

Thursday 2 June | Primavera Sound Festival, Barcelona ES - SOLD OUT

Saturday 4 June | Levitation France, Angers FR

Sunday 5 June | Rock School Barbey, Bordeaux, FR

Tuesday 7 June | Capitol, Santiago de Compostela ES

Saturday 11 June | Primavera Sound Festival, Barcelona ES - SOLD OUT

Tuesday 14 June| SWG3 TV Studio, Glasgow UK

Wednesday 15 June | Brudenell Social Club, Leeds UK

Friday 17 June | Electric Ballroom, London UK

Saturday 18 June | Manchester Academy 2, Manchester, UK