top of page
Search

JOAN & THE GIANTS DELIVER NEW SINGLE 'COOL KID'

Listen to the track below!

Image: Supplied.


Boorloo/Perth alt-pop indie band Joan & The Giants have dropped their new single, Cool Kid.


Serving as an ode to self-love and accepting yourself, the track navigates the terrain of finding your sexuality within a home built around Christian beliefs. Introspective and conversational lyricism flow above a glistening soundscape, led by infectious guitar work and driving percussion. The sonics warm sonic tone perfectly captures the songs melancholic yet hopeful thematic standpoint.



“Coming out as bi-sexual was one of the scariest things I’ve ever done as I grew up with a lot of shame surrounding my sexuality. I was raised in a loving home, but my parents also had intense Christian beliefs, and I was taught that being gay or queer is a sin and could lead to serious consequences. Thankfully I met some queer friends who encouraged me to open up to who I am and be proud of my sexuality.” front woman Grace Newton-Wordsworth shares.


“I think my entire life I have always been a bit of an outsider and gravitated towards people that feel the same. I grew up on an organic and bio-dynamic farm, my parents are Christian hippies and weren’t very accepted in the town I grew up in. My life was unconventional and other kids just didn’t really understand me. I was rejected, left out and bullied and definitely never a ‘Cool Kid’.”



To celebrate the release, the band will embark on a national tour. Kicking off in Perth on May 27, the run of shows will continue on to Newcastle, Bondi, Wollongong, Brookvale, Alexandria, Brunswick, St Kilda, Mornington, Coburg, Bunbury, Busselton and Dunsborough, before wrapping up in Perth on August 5. Tickets are on sale now!


Cool Kid is out now!


JOAN & THE GIANTS COOL KID NATIONAL TOUR

Tickets

Sat 27th May - The Bird, Perth (WA) Wed 5th July - Hamilton Station Hotel, Newcastle (NSW) Thurs 6th July - Royal Hotel, Bondi (NSW) Fri 7th July - Towradgi Beach Hotel, Wollongong (NSW) Sat 8th July - Bucketty’s Brewery, Brookvale (NSW) Sun 9th July - Yulli’s Brews, Alexandria (NSW) Wed 12th July - The Retreat, Brunswick (VIC) Fri 14th July - The Espy Basement, St Kilda (VIC) Sat 15th July - Gods Bandroom, Mornington (VIC) Sun 16th July - Post Office Hotel, Coburg (VIC) Fri 21st July - Froth Brewery, Bunbury (WA) Sat 22nd July - Hally’s Bar, Busselton (WA) Sun 23rd July - Clancy’s Fish Pub, Dunsborough (WA) Sat 5th August - The Bird, Perth (WA)

bottom of page