top of page
  • Vasili Papathanasopoulos


The record features collaborations with Stevie Nicks, Miley Cyrus, Lil Nas X, Eddie Vedder and more!

Image: Gregg Kemp

Legendary musician Elton John has announced his new album, The Lockdown Sessions, bringing along all your favourite artists for the ride!

Recorded over the past eighteen months during lockdown after John was forced to bring his farewell tour to a halt, the album sees the five time GRAMMY Award winner and two time Academy Award winner enlist the help of Dua Lipa, Surfaces, Rina Sawayama, Gorillaz, SG Lewis, Eddie Vedder, Stevie Wonder, Lil Nas X and Stevie Nicks just to name a few. The release will also feature the musicians collaboration with Miley Cyrus, WATT, Yo-Yo Ma, Robert Trujillo and Chad Smith, Nothing Else Matters, which is set to appear on the forthcoming Metallica tribute album, The Metallica Blacklist.

Speaking of the record, John shares: “The last thing I expected to do during lockdown was make an album. But, as the pandemic went on, one‐off projects kept cropping up. Some of the recording sessions had to be done remotely, via Zoom, which I’d obviously never done before. Some of the sessions were recorded under very stringent safety regulations: working with another artist, but separated by glass screens. But all the tracks I worked on were really interesting and diverse, stuff that was completely different to anything I’m known for, stuff that took me out of my comfort zone into completely new territory. And I realised there was something weirdly familiar about working like this. At the start of my career, in the late 60s, I worked as a session musician. Working with different artists during lockdown reminded me of that. I’d come full circle: I was a session musician again. And it was still a blast.”

The record was proceeded by the PNAU remix of Cold Heart, which featured vocals from global superstar Dua Lipa. The ambitious release, brings together over twenty artists who cross generations, genres and culture, featuring 10 unreleased songs. Five tracks see the musician team up with GRAMMY Award winning producer Andrew Watt, continuing their collaboration from Nothing Else Matters.

The Lockdown Sessions is out October 22!


bottom of page