top of page
  • Vasili Papathanasopoulos


Image: Supplied.

Singer, songwriter, producer and multi-instrumentalist Cautious Clay has announced the release of his debut album, Deadpan Love, due out this June! The announcement is accompanied by a new track, Karma & Friends.

Speaking of the record, the musician shares: “Deadpan Love explores the ways I cope with the worst of what humanity has to offer. It’s about opposites—having an outer layer that’s tougher, this “deadpan” state, and an inner layer of compassion, where you’re open to being there for the people you care about. It’s this warring compassion and cynicism that has empowered me to express myself through this medium.” The record will feature the previously released singles Roots, Dying In The Subtlety and Agreeable.

On the album, the musician teams up with a bevy of heavyweight co-writers, including Tobias Jesso Jr. (Adele, HAIM), Jim-E Stack (Caroline Polachek, Empress Of), Daniel Nigro (Olivia Rodrigo, FINNEAS), Jesse Shatkin (Sia, Kelly Clarkson), Ammar Malik (Maroon 5, Halsey) and Sir Nolan (Shawn Mendes, Selena Gomez), plus a collaboration with Chicago rapper Saba.

Having collaborated with the likes of Taylor Swift, Billie Eilish, John Legend and John Mayer, the musician has released three EP’s; TABLE OF CONTEXT, RESONANCE and his debut, BLOOD TYPE, which included his breakout song Cold War. Roots follows the release of Dying in the Subtlety and Agreeable, the first taste of the musicians upcoming album. Late last year, he featured on Ruel's say it over and also participated in the collaborative single Cheesin with Remi Wolf, Still Woozy, Sophie Meiers, Claud, Melanie Faye and HXNS to raise money for Covid-19 relief. Just prior, he released Reaching (ft. Alex Isley), which was featured within the Season 4 premiere of Issa Rae’s Insecure, with the soundtrack nominated for an NAACP award for Outstanding Soundtrack / Compilation Album this year.

Deadpan Love is out June 25! Watch the visual for Karma & Friends below!


bottom of page