top of page
  • Vasili Papathanasopoulos



Aussie pop-sensation Troye Sivan has released his new EP In A Dream. Written in the midst of a relationship breakdown, the six-song concept EP navigates heartbreak, depression and body image. The kaleidoscopic twists and turns of the release perfectly capture the emotions that accompany the dissolution of a relationship. “This small collection of songs explores an emotional rollercoaster period in my life when the feelings and thoughts were most shockingly fresh,” explains Sivan. “Revisiting these songs and moments is tough, but I’m proud of this music and excited to have it out in the world.”


The Shadow is the sophomore album from Seattle trio Naked Giants. The album documents the bands experiences navigating touring life while also focusing on their songwriting abilities. The tracks expertly exhibit the bands maturity in lyricism and the new heights their musicianship has reached. With hints of rock to post-punk and grooves in spades, the band have delivered on their second record. Of the release, the band said in a press statement: “In the years since our previous album SLUFF was recorded, we have toured around the world, honed our musical skills and found our own little place in the music industry - but we have also seen our share of shadows, and it is through acknowledging these shadows that we grow the most. Each song on The Shadow examines an aspect of this growth through a different musical lens, adding up to a series of rock and roll vignettes of light, shadow, anxiety and responsibility.”


American rock band, The Pretty Reckless, have released an acoustic version of their #1 song, Death By Rock and Roll. Released earlier this year, the band earned their fifth #1 song on the Billboard Rock Chart, now holding the record for the most number one singles by a female-led rock artist in Billboard Rock Chart history. The band performed an acoustic rendition of the track earlier this year during an iHeartRadio Facebook live session. The bands fourth studio album Death By Rock and Roll, is due out early next year and is set to feature collaborations with Tom Morello of Rage Against The Machine and Kim Thayil and Matt Cameron of Soundgarden.


The Cat Empire frontman, Felix Riebel, has released his new EP Black Room White Walls. The release evokes nostalgic feelings while expertly exhibits the musicians ability to combine elements from contrasting musical styles from classical to rock. On the timing of the release, Riebl said, “these songs weren’t written in response to things happening around us, but it does feel like the right time to release them”.


BTS have dropped their highly anticipated single, Dynamite. The track marks the song from the boy bandit be sung entirely in English. The upbeat disco-pop track is full of high energy beats, lyrically referencing self-confidence and joy. The colourful music video shows the group members in different settings such as a cafe, record store and bedroom. The phenomenal choreography highlights each members personality, while they dance over catchy melodies and a euphoric key change towards the end of the track.


A.GIRL returns with her new single Lola. On the track, the singer talks about her alter ego Lola, a woman with a tough exterior which the singer describes as “the side of ourselves we fear but is a necessary part of our whole”. The song was produced by Taka Perry (Ruel, M-Phazes).


Pop superstar Katy Perry has released one last track before the release of her highly anticipated sixth studio album, Smile, next Friday. Produced by Johan Carlsson, and co-produced by Elvira Anderfjärd, The song is a celebration of womanhood, and is dedicated to the singers unborn daughter. Smile will feature Perry’s hit singles Never Really Over and Daisies.


Zafari is the latest musical venture from musician Zac Farro. The Paramore drummer and Half Noise frontman is Farro’s exploration into Reggae sounds, utilising Reggaeton-inspired instrumentation. The EP was recorded and produced by Farro, enlisting his Paramore bandmate, and producer extraordinaire, Taylor York for additional engineering. The tracks are full of sparse vocals and groovy beats, it’s hard to not groove along!


Left Side Filter's new single, On Your Own, navigates the highs and lows of life, with a sense of mourning a loved one who is no longer present in your life. With a classic rock chord progression and a massive chorus to match, the song makes reference to Kurt Vonnegut’s science fiction-infused anti-war novel Slaughterhouse-Five.


Tangerine is the latest track from singer Jesse Jo Stark. The lullaby like track is packed with emotionally charged lyrics over sweeping 12-piece string instrumentals. Western inspired melodies soar above steel guitar lines that perfectly accompany Stark’s dreamy vocals.


During the COVID-19 pandemic, American musician blackbear has released a strip of chart-topping songs. Now, his new album everyhting means nothing is here! The release marks the musicians foray into more pop sounds, perfectly introducing his new sound. The upbeat songs encapsulate blackbears signature relatable lyricism that comment on current trends, provoking thought within listeners.


Sydney indie-rock band The Tints dropped their new single Glacier. The nostalgic track takes influence from 80’s-90’s rock with catchy guitar melodies under lead singer Lachie Pringle’s soaring vocal performance. The song was written by Pringle, intended as a solo acoustic track. However, after working on the song collectively, the band felt it was the perfect definition of their musical style.


Aussie singer-songwriter Megan Core released her second single, Lost In Mayfield. The folk-rock track is an ode to the singers hometown of Newcastle and its inhabitants who create a warm community.


bottom of page